Two UP researchers make history as 2019 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos

| Written by UP Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs


Dr. Eva Cutiongco-dela Paz of UP Manila and Dr. Ricardo T. Jose of UP Diliman have been named 2019 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos for the teacher category.

This is the first time that UP had more than one awardee in the same year.

Cutiongco-dela Paz was former vice chancellor for research of UP Manila and the current executive director of the National Institutes of Health. She obtained her Doctor of Medicine degree from UP and further trained in molecular genetics at the International Center for Medical Research at the Kobe University Graduate School of Medicine and in clinical genetics at the Hospital for Sick Children of the University of Toronto. She is currently the genomics health program director of the Philippine Genome Center. Her mother won the award in 1981 and the mother-daughter win is a first for the prestigious award.

Jose is a professor at the Department of History of the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy at UP Diliman and former director of the Third World Studies Center. He received his BA and MA in history from UP Diliman and his PhD in history/area studies from the Tokyo University of Foreign Studies. He is the country’s leading scholar on World War II in the Philippines and the Asia-Pacific. He also specializes in Japan-Philippine relations and the American colonial rule in the Philippines.

The Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos Award is given annually to four teachers, three soldiers and three police officers who are exemplary public servants and active agents of positive change and influence in their communities. The winners are chosen by different sectors of society in a rigorous process of selection.

This was originally posted on the OVPAA website at Two UP researchers make history as 2019 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos.