Seven UP alumni shortlisted for the 2019 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos

| Written by Celeste Ann Castillo Llaneta

Image from the homepage of the Metrobank Foundation


Seven UP alumni are among the recently announced 18 finalists of the 2019 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos. Five are among the finalists for the teacher award, and two, the police officers competition.

These finalists will move onto the final selection process on July 26 and 27 at the Metrobank Plaza, Makati City.

Among the finalists for the teacher awards are: a UP Visayas College of Arts and Science graduate, Dr. Dorothy S. Tarol of the Special Education-Integrated School for Exceptional Children (Iloilo City); a UP Los Baños College of Engineering and Agro-Industrial Technology graduate, Amando Perfecto dlC. Molin of South Hill School, Inc. (Los Baños, Laguna); a UP Diliman College of Education graduate, Dr. Cristina B. Cristobal of the Philippine Science High School Main Campus; Dr. Eva Maria C. Cutiongco-de la Paz of the UP Manila National Institutes of Health; and, Dr. Ricardo T. Jose of the UP Diliman Department of History.

Finalists for the police officers competition include: Police Captain Dexter D. Panganiban of the Viga Municipal Police Station, Catanduanes Police Provincial Office (Viga, Catanduanes), who is a UPLB Development Communication graduate; and, Police Lieutenant Colonel Oliver S. Tanseco of the Operations Management Division, Highway Patrol Group, Camp Crame (Quezon City), who earned his postgraduate degrees from the UP Diliman National College of Public Administration and Governance and the College of Mass Communication.

Guided by the theme of “Beyond Excellence”, the Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos are recognized for rendering service above and beyond their call of duty. Their accomplishments must have inspired and influenced their peers as well as the people in their respective communities. Their works must have transformed a community with a lasting positive impact on people and the country.

From these finalists, 10 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos will be chosen, to include four teachers and three police officers. They will each receive a cash prize of P1 million, a gold medallion and a trophy during Metrobank’s 57th anniversary celebration in September.