Seven outstanding UP Masscomm alumni to receive the 2021 Glory Awards

| Posted by UP Media and Public Relations office

Seven exceptional alumni of the University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication (UP CMC) will receive the 2021 Glory Awards in a virtual ceremony on November 27.

Bestowed annually since 2017 by the UP CMC Alumni Association (UPCMCAA), the Glory Awards honor alumni whose work goes beyond “the usual” consistent track record of excellence.

The Glory Awards were inspired by the legacy of honor and distinction of Dr. Gloria Feliciano, the founding dean of UP’s 56-year-old mass communications program, who served from 1965 to 1985. The Glory trophy, sculpted by UP Professor Emerita Gigi Javier Alfonso, will be presented to winners in recognition of their excellent work and impact on the communities they serve.

The awardees for 2021 selected by a distinguished jury of peers are Maria Luz Balmaceda for corporate communications, Atty. Maria Kristina Conti for social advocacy, Abner Mercado for broadcast journalism, Catherine Garcia-Molina for film, Felix “Nonon” Padilla for the performing arts, Rowena Carranza-Paraan for social advocacy, and Dr. Marianne Dayrit Sison for mass communication education.

This year’s panel of jurors was composed of broadcast journalist Ces Drilon, Visayan State University Professor Emerita Monina Movido-Escalada, former deputy press secretary Danilo Gozo, investigative journalist Malou Mangahas, and writer-director and actress Bibeth Orteza. The Glory also has two permanent jurors—UP CMC Dean and film professor Arminda Santiago and former ANC and CNN Philippines news director Jing Magsaysay, who represents the family of Dr. Feliciano.


The winners

Maria Luz Balmaceda, corporate communications

Marlu Balmaceda led the brand and corporate communications unit of SGV & Co., the country’s premier auditing and professional services firm, for 25 years. She was the Philippine program manager of the global Ernst & Young “Entrepreneur of the Year” search. As executive director of the SGV Foundation, she helped make a difference in the lives of young students through education and entrepreneurship programs.


Maria Kristina Conti, social advocacy

Atty. Krissy Conti is a human rights advocate who has defended jailed journalists, student activists, political prisoners, urban poor evictees, and quarantine “violators” during the pandemic. She helped prosecute Maj. Gen. Jovito Palparan, accused of kidnapping and disappearance of UP students Karen Empeno and Sherlyn Cadapan, led to his conviction. She also serves in the legal team assisting the families of persons killed during the government’s war on drugs.


Abner Mercado, broadcast journalism

Abner Mercado is renowned for documentaries about social and environmental issues, politics, and cultural anthropology. His work led him to scale Mt. Everest twice and record the moment the Philippine flag was waved from the roof of the earth. He was among the first workers displaced by the withdrawal of ABS-CBN’s franchise to operate. Still, he considers the experience his “medal of valor” from his network of 21 years. Mercado won a bronze medal from the New York Film and TV Festival and a special jury prize at the 9th Moscow International Festival of Mountaineering and Adventure Film.


Cathy Garcia-Molina, film

Cathy Garcia-Molina directed the two highest-grossing Filipino films of all time—Hello Love, Goodbye (2019) and The Hows of Us (2018)—among a string of hits with ABS-CBN Star Cinema. She was nominated for best director at the Asian Academy Creative Awards for Hello Love, Goodbye. The same film won her Movie Director of the Year honors from the Philippine Movie Press Club Star Awards, duplicating her feat in 2007 when she directed that Year’s biggest blockbuster, One More Chance. Molina has won six times as Most Popular Film Director at the annual Guillermo Mendoza Box Office Entertainment Awards.


Felix “Nonon” Padilla, the performing arts

Nonon Padilla has staged and directed over a hundred plays, composed music, and designed sets for the country’s pre-eminent theater groups. In 1987 he founded the Cultural Center of the Philippines’ Tanghalang Pilipino. Padilla started the Actors’ Company that produced highly regarded performers, including Nonie Buencamino, Pen Medina, and John Arcilla. In the Philippine Educational Theater Association (PETA), he prepared the training curriculum to guide PETA artists in honing their acting craft. His works have been performed internationally in New York’s Royal Theater, Singapore, Japan, and across Canada.


Rowena Carranza-Paraan, social advocacy

Weng Carranza-Paraan served as chairperson, president, and secretary-general of the National Union of Journalists of the Philippines for over a decade. She waged a long campaign for justice on behalf of 57 journalists and media workers killed in the infamous Ampatuan massacre in 2009. She currently heads ABS-CBN News Public Service and produces the Lingkod Kapamilya segment and the citizen journalism program Bayan Mo, I-patrol Mo. Her ongoing projects include voters’ education and fighting disinformation thru news literacy.


Marianne Dayrit Sison, mass communication education

Marianne Dayrit-Sison is an academic leader in the public relations field. She is the founding chair and convenor of the Asia Pacific Public Relations Research and Education Network (APPRREN). In 2019 she was awarded Educator of the Year by the Public Relations Institute of Australia. The following Year, Dayrit-Sison received the Communication Excellence in Organizations (CEO EXCEL) award from the Philippine chapter of the International Association of Business Communicators. She is based in Australia, an Honorary University Fellow and former deputy dean of media and communication at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology.