Memorial for victims of the Marcos regime to rise in UP

| Written by UP Media and Public Relations Office

The University of the Philippines will be the site of the country’s memorial for victims of human rights violations.

UP and the Human Rights Violations Victims’ Memorial Commission (HRVVMC) will sign on Friday, September 21, 2018, at 10:30 AM, a memorandum of understanding to be partners in the establishment of the Human Rights Violations Victims’ Memorial, Museum, and/or Library in UP Diliman.

The signatories will be UP President Danilo L. Concepcion and HRVVMC Chair Rene Escalante, with UP Vice President for Development Elvira Zamora and HRVVMC Executive Director Carmelo Victor Crisanto as witnesses.

The exact site and other details of the memorial will be discussed after the MOU signing.

UP has recently designated September 21, 2018 and September 21 of every year thereafter as “UP Day of Remembrance” in honor of the contributions of the University’s “best and brightest” to the fight against dictatorship and despotism, citing UP’s role in the forefront of the resistance to martial law. The Marcos proclamation imposing martial law was dated September 21, 1972.

HRVVMC was established under Republic Act No. 10368, otherwise known as “An Act Providing for Reparation and Recognition of Victims of Human Rights Violations during the Marcos Regime, Documentation of Said Violation, Appropriating Funds Therefor and for Other Purposes,” which President Benigno Aquino III signed on February 25, 2013.

The commission was created “primarily for the establishment, restoration, preservation and conservation of the Memorial/Museum/Library/Compendium in honor of the HRVVs during the Marcos regime.” Its Board of Trustees include the chair of the Commission on Human Rights who sits as chair of the board; chair of the National Historical Commission, as co-chair of the board; and chairs of the Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) and the National Commission on Culture and the Arts, the Secretary of the Department of Education (DepEd) and the head of the UPD Main Library, as board members.