74 named UP Artist

| Written by Arlyn VCD Palisoc Romualdo

UP Artists gather for a group photo at the entrance of the Asian Institute of Tourism after the awarding ceremony of the UP Arts Productivity System. (Photo by Misael Bacani, UP MPRO)


Seventy-four faculty members from across the UP System were conferred the rank and title of UP Artist in a ceremony held on November 29 at the Asian Institute of Tourism, UP Diliman (UPD). Awardees hold the title for three years, which comes with a yearly monetary incentive. The recognition, which may be renewed or elevated to a higher rank, is given based on the Arts Productivity System of the University.


UP President Danilo Concepcion emphasizes the importance of giving proper compensation to artists in his welcome remarks. He also announced that new buildings in the University are required to have artwork incorporated in their design. (Photo by Misael Bacani, UPMPRO)


Of the 74, 70 are from UPD and one each from UP Los Baños (UPLB), UP Manila (UPM), UP Visayas (UPV), and UP Baguio (UPB).


The UP Artists I who were able to attend the ceremony pose for a photo. They are joined by VP for Academic Affairs (VPAA) Maria Cynthia Rose Bautista, who is third from left in the back row. (Photo by Misael Bacani, UP MPRO)


Thirty-three were named UP Artist I and will receive P150,000 annually for three years. They are:

  • Junley L. Lazaga – UPB
  • Honey Libertine Achanzar-Labor – UPM
  • Martin G. Genodepa – UPV
  • Amparo Adelina C. Umali III – UPD
  • Robert Rownd – UPD
  • Josefina C. Santos – UPD
  • Daphne-Tatiana P. Tolentino-Canlas – UPD
  • Ramon Maria G. Acoymo – UPD
  • Ena Maria R. Aldecoa – UPD
  • Alegria O. Ferrer – UPD
  • David Dino S. Guadalupe – UPD
  • Jocelyn Timbol-Guadalupe – UPD
  • Antonio R. Maigue – UPD
  • Jose Santos P. Ardivilla – UPD
  • Romanlito S. Austria – UPD
  • Nina Elisa B. Constantino – UPD
  • Ruben Fortunato M. De Jesus – UPD
  • Fortunato B. De La Peña Jr. – UPD
  • Eyasmin A. Lantz – UPD
  • Marco Ruben T. Malto II – UPD
  • Jamel Joseph A. Obnamia – UPD
  • Mitzi Marie Aguilar-Reyes – UPD
  • Leonardo C. Rosete – UPD
  • Marc J. San Valentin – UPD
  • Arbeen R. Acuña – UPD
  • Cecilia S. De La Paz – UPD
  • U Z. Eliserio – UPD
  • Eloisa May P. Hernandez – UPD
  • Gabriela Alejandra D. Lee – UPD
  • Maria Eileen L. Ramirez – UPD
  • Meliton C. Roxas Jr. – UPD
  • Sir Anril P. Tiatco – UPD
  • Lily Rose R. Tope – UPD


In this photo, some of the faculty members who earned the rank of UP Artist II are with VPAA Maria Cynthia Rose Bautista, who is third from left in the back row. (Photo by Misael Bacani, UP MPRO)


Thirty received the rank of UP Artist II and will receive P200,000 annually for three years. They are:

  • Layeta Bucoy – UPLB
  • Matthew Constancio M. Santamaria – UPD
  • Gerard Rey A. Lico – UPD
  • Julius Anthony M. Del Castillo – UPD
  • Benjamin I. Cabangis – UPD
  • Rita B. Gudiño – UPD
  • Mary Catherine P. Sta. Ana – UPD
  • Patrick F. Campos – UPD
  • Sari Raissa Lluch Dalena – UPD
  • Elizabeth L. Enriquez – UPD
  • Jane O. Vinculado – UPD
  • Rodney D.S. Sambat – UPD
  • Janet S. Aracama – UPD
  • Jonas U. Baes – UPD
  • Laverne C. De La Peña – UPD
  • Marie Jocelyn U. Marfil – UPD
  • Raul C. Navarro – UPD
  • Arwin Q. Tan – UPD
  • Luna Sicat-Cleto – UPD
  • Josefina F. Estrella – UPD
  • Eugene Y. Evasco – UPD
  • Vladimeir B. Gonzales – UPD
  • Tessa Maria T. Guanzon – UPD
  • Ramon G. Guillermo – UPD
  • Judy Celine A. Ick – UPD
  • Isabela B. Mooney – UPD
  • Will P. Ortiz – UPD
  • Amihan Bonifacio-Ramolete – UPD
  • Rommel B. Rodriguez – UPD
  • Dexter M. Santos – UPD


Eight of the 11 UP Artists III with VPAA Maria Cynthia Rose Bautista, who stands second from left (Photo by Misael Bacani, UP MPRO)


Eleven were awarded the title of UP Artist III and will receive P250,000 annually for three years. They are:

  • Leonilo O. Doloricon – UPD
  • Reuel M. Aguila – UPD
  • Glecy C. Atienza – UPD
  • Patrick D. Flores – UPD
  • Jose Neil C. Garcia – UPD
  • Yason B. Banal – UPD
  • Eulalio R. Guieb III – UPD
  • Rolando B. Tolentino – UPD
  • Edna Marcil M. Martinez – UPD
  • Maria Christine M. Muyco – UPD
  • Josefino J. Toledo – UPD


VPAA Maria Cynthia Rose Bautista officially closes the awarding ceremony. (Photo by Misael Bacani, UP MPRO)