UP Varsity Swim Teams and Tennis Teams present their trophies to UP President

| Written by Fred Dabu

The UP varsity teams in a huddle with UP President Jimenez. (Photo by Abraham Arboleda, UPMPRO)


Members of the Varsity Swim Teams and Tennis Teams of the University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman presented their trophies and medals to UP President Angelo Jimenez at the UP Board of Regents Room in Quezon Hall on 22 May 2023.

In the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Season 85, the UP Varsity Women’s Swim Team was 1st runner up while the Men’s Swim Team placed 2nd runner up.

Meanwhile, the UP Women’s Lawn Tennis Team ranked 2nd place and the UP Men’s Lawn Tennis Team landed in 5th place.

Jimenez praised the student athletes for being exemplary scholars who serve as role models for the youth. He added that sports build character by helping students develop values such as leadership, fairness, and discipline.

Jimenez also affirmed his administration’s support for the University’s varsity teams. He encouraged the student athletes to engage the communities while the UP administration develops sports facilities and wellness programs for UP’s students, staff, and faculty.

Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs (Student Affairs) Ma. Shari Oliquino and UP Diliman Chancellor Edgardo Carlo Vistan were also present during the courtesy visit.

The UP Varsity Swim Teams with UP President Jimenez and UP Diliman Chancellor Vistan. (Photo by Abraham Arboleda, UPMPRO)

The UP Varsity Swim Teams include Keane Ting (Men’s Team Captain), Erin Castrillo (Women’s Team Captain), Camille Buico (Women’s Rookie of the Year), Boj Aleta, Gian De Guzman, Patchie Hernandez, Joshua Sedurante, Kyle Bagusto, Renzo Teodoro, Eirron Vibar, Jewelle Macatangay, Franco dela Rosa, Marichi Gandionco (Coach), Maedel Lara (UPVST alumna and team manager), Joey Torres (parent supporter, since 2014), and Ting Joson (parent supporter, since 2022).

The UP Varsity Lawn Tennis Teams include Joshea Malazarte (Women’s Rookie of the Year), Bianca Pica (Women’s Team Captain), Lucy Inalvez (Women’s Team Co-Captain), Bella Esteban, Kristin Martin, Achaia Cabahug, Tricia Velez, Sydney Enriquez, Gia Cari, Jonamil Prado, Jesha Cervantes, Franchezka Malaki, Anna De Myer, Walther Luzon, Jonas Silva, Joshua Austria (Men’s Team Captain), Loucas Fernandez (Men’s Team Co-Captain), Franklin Encarnacion (Head Coach), and Francis Forbes (Assistant Coach).

The UP Varsity Lawn Tennis Teams with UP President Jimenez and UP Diliman Chancellor Vistan. (Photo by Abraham Arboleda, UPMPRO)