UP Fighting Maroons beat DLSU

| Written by MPRO_admin

Desiderio scores 42 points in 80th Araw ng Dabaw Basketball Tournament

The University of the Philippines (UP) Fighting Maroons overwhelmed reigning UAAP champion De La Salle University, 87-79, to capture the 80th Araw ng Dabaw basketball title at the Davao City Recreation Center (Almendras Gym) on March 26.

The Maroons trailed the Archers during the first period, 29-21, before UP Diliman College of Human Kinetics student Paul Desiderio exploded with nine three-point shots that enabled UP to overtake DLSU, 42-44, by the end of half-time. UP led, 63-77, towards the third period.

Desiderio was declared Most Valuable Player (MVP) while UP Coach Bo Perasol was named Best Coach.

UP’s Rob Ricafort won the tournament’s slam dunk contest. UPIS alumnus and incoming UP Diliman freshman Juan Gomez de Liano was declared winner of the three-point shootout competition.

Davao City Sports Head Michael Aportadera awarded the prizes to the winners.

UP Alumni Association-Davao City Chapter capped the evening by hosting a victory dinner for the UP Contingent.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *