Tina Monzon Palma is the U.P. Gawad Plaridel 2017 Recipient

| Written by UP Media and Public Relations Office

The University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication is pleased to announce the recipient of the U.P. Gawad Plaridel 2017 in the person of MS. TINA MONZON PALMA.

Tina Monzon Palma is a veteran broadcaster who is cited for her pioneering efforts that opened doors/opportunities for women at a time when men dominated the media landscape.

Tina Monzon Palma has kept her professional integrity in her more than 40 years in the media. She was a news anchor during the Martial Law years, and remained steadfast in her craft.

The U.P. Gawad Plaridel comes with a trophy, specially designed by National Artist Napoleon Abueva, which will be presented to Palma by the U.P. President Danilo Concepcion and U.P. Diliman Chancellor Michael Tan in ceremonies on August 23, 2017 (Wednesday), 2:00 pm at the U.P. Film Center. Monzon-Palma will also deliver a lecture during the ceremonies.

Established by the U.P. College of Mass Communication, the annual U.P. Gawad Plaridel recognizes Filipino media practitioners who have excelled in any of the media (print, radio, film, and television) and who have performed with the highest level of professional integrity in the interest of public service.

The U.P. Gawad Plaridel’s roster of honorees include: Ms. Eugenia Duran-Apostol (2004, print), Ms. Vilma Santos (2005, film), Ms. Fidela “Tiya Dely” Magpayo (2006, radio), Ms. Cecilia “Cheche” L. Lazaro (2007, television), Mr. Pachico A. Seares (2008, community print), Mr. Kidlat Tahimik (2009, independent film), Ms. Eloisa “Lola Sela” Canlas (2011, radio), Ms. Florence “Rosa Rosal” Danon-Gayda (2012, television), Mr. Jose “Pete” Lacaba (2013, print), Ms. Nora “Nora Aunor” Villamayor (2014, transmedia), Mr. Ricardo “Ricky” Lee (2015, film), Ms. Francisca “Babes” Custodio (2016, radio).

The award is named after Marcelo H. del Pilar (nom de plume, Plaridel), the selfless propagandist whose stewardship of the reformist newspaper La Solidaridad gave voice to nationalist sentiments and libertarian ideas in the 1890s. Like Plaridel, the recipient of the award must believe in a vision of a Philippine society that is egalitarian, participative and progressive, and in media that is socially responsible, critical and vigilant, liberative and transformative, and free and independent.